Life

what is life exactly?

Winning Means Giving It All.

As I approached the final mile of the race I realized there were only three opponents left. Obstacles standing between my goal and me…..the finish line.

As I reached the first opponent, I closed my eyes and heard this message: “You only fail if you fail to try.” I peddled with all my might and took his place. One down, two to go.

As I neared number two I once again closed my eyes. Knowing this one would be harder, I searched for strength. Not only was I more tired than before, but this opponent was the second strongest. Suddenly I heard the voice from within: “You only see the obstacle when you take your mind off the goal.” I visualized the finish line and continued to push my body to it’s limit and took position number two.

My last opponent, my last obstacle was in first place for a reason. He symbolized every goal that I hoped to achieve. Knowing this would be the toughest moment of the race, I again closed my eyes. This time I waited for the message. But it didn’t come. As the fear rose from inside I realized it was up to me, not this voice, to win the race. With that in mind, I opened my eyes and it hit me.

On the back of my opponent’s shirt was the message. It read, “If you can read this……..I’m winning!!!”

Then with every ounce of energy in my body and soul, I peddled and fought the toughest battle of my life. As I crossed the finish line, I realized that first place means nothing if you haven’t given 150%. There is always someone out there who is a little faster or a little stronger, but the real champion is the one who reaches the finish line with nothing more to give.

Copyright © Jay K. Duplessie — Colorado

yeapps. indeed. no matter what you do, always do it well. put in all your efforts. this way, you’ll have no regrets. no matter what the outcome is, you can proudly tell yourself, “i’ve done my best, i gave my all, i’m satisfied. i may not have won or anything, but i know i’ve did my best” that’s the way life should be! no regrets!
i used to think that if the task given to me is ‘impossible’ and cannot be completed by me, i naturally just give up. but slowly, i learnt that if i do not try, i do not know! thus, ever since then, no matter what i do, i try my best to give my all. no matter how worn out i would be after that, i still try. i wont know if i dont try right? how many tasks i’ve been given that seems impossible to be completed by myself? plenty. but, i tried. and they are actually manageable. 🙂
it shows pretty much doesnt it? push yourself to the finish line in your life. go after whatever you want. try. try and you’ll know. and do not forget, give your best shot in whatever you do!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

