Life

what is life exactly?

Appearances Mean Nothing.

I often look at your page, it helps me to remember that there are some pretty wonderful people out there.

I’d like to share a story that has happened to me….

I am now a woman of 30. This story occurred when I was 14 or 15. Every day for the longest time I saw a woman wandering around my home town. What made this woman so remarkable was that her wander was more of a limp.

My first impression of her was to check for a lump in her back. She looked like a cross between the hunch back of Notre Dame and Igor, Dr. Frankenstein’s helper.
She dragged a leg, her arms and hands were narled and couldn’t move very well. I would see her walking everywhere. The newspaper did a story on her, but I was still wary.

Then, one day I had a fight with my mother and ran to my favorite hiding place. This was a little lake near a retirement center. Who did I spot walking? My narled lady. I took a deep breath and approached her. Well, imagine my surprise when I discovered that she was an ordinary person with a really bad case of arthritis. She walked to stay limber.

The amazing thing was and still is, she listened to the woes of a 14-year-old teenager. I shared my difficulties about my relationship with my mother. I walked with her and she listened to me. I in turn, listened to her and her problems with her adult children.

I don’t know if this kind lady is still alive, but she gave me an hour of time that I will never forget. She also helped me to learn that appearances mean nothing.

— Copyright © 1999 Monica Millard

ever met someone who may not be that pleasant in appearance yet has a heart of gold? or perhaps someone who is so generous that it has touched your heart? i have. people who walk in and out of my life; some of them stay of course; some of them have left deep impressions in my heart. they have a big heart and are really nice to be with? and i’m thankful for such friends =)

havent been in the best of mood recently. and i’m comforted to know that there are those who stand by me ^^ of course none could tell if i was really sad or not in real life. if you could, you’d be my best friend alrd. LOL. only she knows!

jie! you know it’s you la huh. dont be shy! XD

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

