Life

what is life exactly?

APOLOGIZE.

But I Didn’t Mean It!

This morning I accidentally hit my 3 year old with my handbag as I was coming through the door.

She said “Oh Mum you hit me!”

I responded with, “But darling I didn’t mean it, so why are you cracking up at me?”

“But you did hit me Mum. You hit me and it hurts.”

“But I didn’t mean it sweetie – ok?”

Then I realised that actually – No it’s not ok. Whether it is intentional or not it needs to be recognised as pain that you have caused another. It really does. She had a little red mark on her forehead and it was in fact my doing.

Whether I meant to do it or not.

So I put the groceries down, leaned forward and asked her to show me the mark. I then gave her a Magic Kiss. I said I was really sorry then gave her a cuddle. No more was spoken about it.

It was a really easy thing to do. Much easier than arguing and saying -“It’s not my fault because I didn’t mean it!” Yes – a lot of things are not intentional but they still need to be recognised as pain.

How hard is it to just face someone, kiss them and apologise?

— Copyright © 2007 Vicki Muller

How many of you would be like the mother and deny responsibility? I am sure, some time through life, you’d have denied responsibility at least once; whether consciously or subconsciously. There’s nothing wrong with it. It’s human nature. We’re born with something called instinct. So when we do something wrong, our first instinct would be to cower and say it isn’t our fault.

Many a times, we do things to hurt others without knowing it. Sometimes we do know it hurts others. Occasionally, if one is in the mood, one will apologize.

Don’t you just wonder at times, how difficult it is to put down your pride and say sorry for something wrong that you’ve done?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

